That’s an amazing cock

If you found this post through some dodgy search engine terms, then I’m afraid you may be in for a disappointment. This post is about chickens and telling the time.

This morning, I was woken by a cockerel. Nothing to get excited about there you may think but what I did not mention is that I am not nestled in the Cotswolds, I am in a hotel – in downtown Mumbai. Still not impressed? Well, what if I tell you that I’m in a double glazed room up on the 12th floor? There you go – now you too have a healthy respect for Indian wildlife.

Now this particular cock’s vocal prowess was matched only by its inability to adequately tell the time. 5am in the morning!! Sunrise is set for 7.14 am – I know because I’d set my alarm. Maybe I could have got back to sleep but what you may not know about this place is that the local dogs (of which there are many) have no such problems with time keeping. So the cockerel’s initial opening shots were answered by a sustained volley of dog barks roughly translated as anything from “do you know what time it is?”, “go back to sleep” through to the more traditional “shut the f*ck up”. You’d pay good money for this kind of entertainment.

This entry was posted in India, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That’s an amazing cock

  1. Cindy says:

    Nothing quite like a rooster announcing the start of another long day of oppresive heat. Head home to the soggy wool sock which is England. Here cockerels are respectful.

Leave a Reply

